The importance of being named

I have a terrible time naming my characters. I’m very particular about names. Names mean something, names are important and can really define a personality. For my protagonists, there is much deliberation before the starting a story but for secondary characters, it’s usually whatever name I can pull from the air first. Therefore, it’s not uncommon to find me looking off into space, when I need to come up with a new name for a secondary character.

I sit at my desk. I look around me. I search for anything that’s going to give me some help. I have several different dictionaries on my desk and as an example, my medical dictionary is credited to Robert M. Youngson so you can bet your bottom dollar that somewhere in one of my stories is a Mr Roberts or a Mr Young or a Mrs Robertson.

I’ve just finished writing a six part mini-series for the Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance line where I created a family – the Goldmark’s – and proceeded to tell the stories of how the members of this large and extended family eventually find true happiness after experiencing much hardship. Several of the stories are set around a fictitious town near Australia’s snowy mountains, called Oodnaminaby. Now if you’re a Doctor Who fan, you’ll have some idea how I came up with the name of this town. 😉

Some of the other books in the Goldmark Series, were set in an outback town and before I tell you the name this town eventually received, I feel I should also let you know that when I write, I usually have headphones on, listening to loud, blaring music. As with finding the right name for my protagonists, so it may take a few chapters to find the right music to suit the storyline. Music can be highly inspirational, helping to set the mood and tone within my mind, so that creativity can be unlocked and the words can flow. (at least, that’s what I tell myself is happening as I play another game of Spider Solitaire)

So as I sat there, trying to figure out what on earth to call this new outback town, I closed my eyes and listened the music of Huey Lewis and the News. This is an 80’s band I have loved since… well since the 80’s. I have most of their records, which I now have on CD or iTunes and for this particular outback book, for some strange reason, Huey Lewis and the News was the music of choice to get me in the mood to create.

And now I’ll bet you can guess what I called that little outback town. That’s right, it’s Lewisville, which is nestled in the electoral district of Hueyton. That story is Falling For Dr Fearless and it’s out in Australian stores right now or available in ebook at:

Book 4 in The Goldmark Series

 

 

http://www.millsandboon.com.au/product/9781460885055

 

Other books in the Goldmark Series:

 

  • The Boss She Can’t Resist
  • Taming the Lone Doc’s Heart
  • Diamond Ring for the Ice Queen
  • Falling for Dr Fearless

 

Soon to be released:

 

  • A Socialite’s Christmas Wish
  • Dare she Dream Forever?

 

Lucy

4 thoughts on “The importance of being named

  1. I totally agree with you, Lucy! Names are SO important to me, such that I have the moment where the hero/heroine refers to the other by a different, more intimate name is a huge turning point in the story. Hmm. I seem to do this a lot. Maybe I should shake things up a litte?… Nah ;p
    Also, I seem to be quite obsessed with traditional English names, although lately I’m into the funky retro ones such as Rupert, Oscar, Florence and Victor. So weird how our brains work, hey?
    See you for coffee on Wednesday!
    – Cassandra

    • Absolutely right, ablueice. I know a writer who doesn’t decide on their character’s name until the end of the first draft. That is something I simply couldn’t even imagine doing.
      Lucy

Leave a Reply

