Giant Drops and Restrooms?

Well if Cassandra dropped the ball the other week, I’ve clearly lost mine! Sorry the blog is so late. I could offer a mountain of excuses but I won’t insult your intelligence.

There’s always the big question of ‘what to write’ when it’s your turn to blog and this week, I guess I’ve really struggled with exactly what it was I wanted to say. I did think of telling you about my week-end. They’re usually not that exciting, dealing with washing the clothes and writing words of some kind in my latest WIP but on Sunday afternoon, we went out to an adventure camp and after a lovely BBQ (or salad focaccia, in my case), we headed up an enormous hill to where there were climbing and abseiling frames set up and also a ‘giant swing’. Now I’d love to be able to put a picture right in here —- but the truth is that whilst we did take photos and video, they’re presently stuck on my phone and I can’t find the cord to hook the phone to my computer. (always the way)  However, it did look a little something like this:

It was great to be in an abseiling harness again (last time was when I was a teenager), with hard hat on, being winched up via a rope and then, when you pull the release string, you definitely swing to and fro. But… before I could write this blog, something else happened to me which, thanks to today’s technological society, actually embarrassed me.

My sister called me on my mobile phone while I was on the toilet!

Now, in the past, if I was in the ‘room where legends die’, and the phone rang, I had instructed my family to always say “she’s unavailable at the moment, can she call you back?” thus, preserving the my dignity and also the belief that I am perfect. (which, let’s face it, I am)

These days, with our mobile/cellphones glued to our sides, instructing our every waking moment as we use them for alarms, calendars, diaries, reminders, phone contacts etc, when you’re on a toilet – especially a public one, how utterly embarrassing is it when you get a call? Do you start to wonder, as I do, exactly what the other person can hear? Is the echo of the small cubicle evident? Do they hear the flushing sounds of the other toilets (if you’re in a public restroom)? You also know that everyone else in that restroom is listening in to your conversation.

Has this ever happened to you? Are you embarrassed or do you not particularly care? Have you ever read of character’s being in such a situation in any books?

When we write our stories, there are usually parts of normal human life that we tend to leave out – such as certain bodily functions. I do remember years ago, accepting the challenge to have one of my characters vomiting. She had food poisoning and I’d entwined the food poisoning into the plot specifically so I could have the scene of the hero holding back the heroine’s hair, rubbing her back and generally being supportive as she “hoiked up her guts” and oddly enough, my editors changed the scene to having him “being supportive” and then tucking her into bed. The vomiting was deleted.  Instead, the heroine had “felt ill”.

What books have you read where ‘bodily functions’ are more readily acceptable? Were they fiction? Non-fiction? Romance? Horror?  Enquiring minds want to know (especially mine).

From now on, though, whenever I enter a public restroom, I will definitely be turning my phone to silent!

Lucy

2 thoughts on “Giant Drops and Restrooms?

  1. Ah, Lucy, isn’t ball dropping ever so much fun?? ;p
    Man, I have NIGHTMARES about the phone ringing when nature calls. Ugh *shudders violently* Though I must admit, I’ve always wondered about the minutia of life not portrayed in fiction. I guess you always cut the uninteresting bits, and having your character go to the toilet just because humans have to is an uninteresting bit. Now if, on the other hand, there’s a bomb strapped beneath that toilet a la Lethal Weapon 3…
    …It was Leathal Weapon 3, right??
    xx

    • Yes, I do believe it was Leathal Weapon 3, the one where Roger is retiring. 4 was the one with Rene Russo (love her). They didn’t do a 4, did they? Oh no wait. Maybe 3 was the one with Rene Russo. Darn. Don’t make me IMDB this. Toilets – who knew they could generate conundrums? tee hee

Leave a Reply

